Author Topic: Cubase VST/32 5.0 (Aug 2000) upd. to Cubase VST/32 5.1r1 (Nov 2001) working  (Read 36881 times)

Offline chrisNova777

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 9164
  • "Vintage MIDI Sequencing + Audio Production"
    • www.oldschooldaw.com | vintage audio production software + hardware info

download full installer:
ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Archives/Cubase_VST/PC/Cubase_VST_5.1.r1/Cubase_VST_5.1r1_all_full_installer.zip

additional (not neccessary but nice) instructions:
http://www.staudio.de/kb/english/cubasevst/

entering this serial installs "vst32"
110000000

uncracked needs blue cubase parallel dongle or usb dongle


for users without a parallel port there is also a trade up program by steinberg to replace the parallel port dongle with a usb license
which involves acquiring a blue dongle, only to destroy it physically + take pictures of the dongle before + after to prove its destroyed
https://www.steinberg.net/fr/support/knowledgebase_new/show_details/kb_show/how-to-use-cubase-vst-on-a-computer-without-printer-port.html

the attached crack file is tested + confirmed working on windows me operating system
I THiNK YOU MIGHT HAVE TO USE A WIN9X TYPE OS FOR THIS CRACK TO WORK!
not sure if it works on Windows XP correctly.
to clarify, v5.0 of Cubase VST/32 was originally intended for Win98SE Operating System and the *new* Windows 2000
wheras; v5.1r1 updated version was updated + intended to be used on the original Windows XP!


this means Windows98se or WindowsME only!!!
also note: its reccomended to keep under the max ram of 512mb while using a win9x os

there is a chance it may work on windows 2000 or windows xp but not confirmed as of yet
!!! this will not work with a 64bit version of windows !!!
it may work just fine with windows 7 + windows 8 as long as you are running the 32bit version



documentation
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/CubaseGettingStarted.pdf   ;)
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/CubaseGettingintotheDetails.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/Arpeggiator.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/DSPFactory.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/EarlierVSTPlugins.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/IPS.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/MenuReference.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/MIDIEcho.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/MIDIMixer.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/OMS.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/RocketPower.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/Score.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/StyleTracks.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/SystemExclusive.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/TableofContents.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/TapeTracks.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/VSTInstruments.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/VSTPlugins.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/VSTRemoteControlDevices.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/WhatIsNewInThisVersion.pdf
http://www.oldschooldaw.com//manuals/cubase/cubase5VST/WhatIsNewInVersion5.pdf
« Last Edit: September 20, 2020, 03:56:53 PM by chrisNova777 »

Offline chrisNova777

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 9164
  • "Vintage MIDI Sequencing + Audio Production"
    • www.oldschooldaw.com | vintage audio production software + hardware info
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.0 (Aug 2000) upd. to Cubase VST/32 5.1r1 (Nov 2001) working
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2020, 10:23:02 AM »
i think vst/32 5.0 will install on windows 95 but not the 5.1;
https://www.soundonsound.com/sound-advice/qa-may-2002

i've confirmed 5.0 does indeed work on windows 95; though it reccommends a 200Mhz+ CPU to do so
but it will run on a Pentium 75Mhz for MIDI only, you can disable the audio engine; but even the midi part is a bit
less instant and responsive compared to lower version midi-only cubase 2.8 on the same p75 machine
« Last Edit: September 21, 2020, 03:43:59 AM by chrisNova777 »

Offline Eskimo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • new to the site
Hi , Thanks for this forum. Great things on here. I have a question, what would have been the cost of this program back in 2000 ?

Offline Project5er

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 322
  • Older Code, Cleaner Code
Pretty sure it cost PLENTY!...Many of the older tighter coded app more effort to code more time-energy so many were greater cost than current versions are....

And also from me thanks alot...I had this already but all the 'extras' here were enough to get me to install which working great on XP SP3 and a sight more efficient on resources than SX 3.1.1...

Sounds good too just as good as the new......'SHIT'!.....

Offline chrisNova777

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 9164
  • "Vintage MIDI Sequencing + Audio Production"
    • www.oldschooldaw.com | vintage audio production software + hardware info
personally i cant say i reccommend using SP3 of XP unless you have a machine thats 2008-2011 era
better to stick with SP2

this version of cubase predates XP but was updated to be 100% compatible with XP with v5.1R1

my opinion also is that  in general the macintosh versions of Cubase are preferable to any PC VST version but its also best to "use what you have" if you have no mac and already have a Intel PC that can run XP, and you need a sequencer, then why worry? get down to business with what you have available....

Offline Project5er

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 322
  • Older Code, Cleaner Code
I have a few machines from 2003-4 the rest mostly 2006-2010 and whilst nothing really wrong with XP SP2 there are numerous NET Frames and Runtimes that will not install on SP2 for being able to run more modern 2D-3D graphic app and many graphic app that will not even install unless SP3 is confirmed...

So for the STRICT audio user SP2 yes...For combo users...NO!

Offline Project5er

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 322
  • Older Code, Cleaner Code
For anybody wanting to actually USE this gem there is a full old course on youtube...

53 videos in all, just got done downloading them...They are all there but in disorder...

https://www.youtube.com/c/GetVSTwise/videos

Offline dragonfly bry

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • new to the site
Pretty sure it cost PLENTY!...Many of the older tighter coded app more effort to code more time-energy so many were greater cost than current versions are....


I bought the mid level version in 1998-9ish for around $300 usd. I think the vst32 version was well over $500 so I went with the mid level which had 24 bit audio (I think for the first time in cubase). I still have the printer dongle but running the crk is more efficient tbh. I was one of the beta testers on the rocket network too. I made a few jams on the old dial-up connection before 2000 lol. Later it was bought by ProTools.

Now I need to load a bunch of old projects and I forgot how to use it haha. Thanks for the manual!

BTW - I have it running on an old Dell pentium 4 with 1gb ram WinXP.

Offline Project5er

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 322
  • Older Code, Cleaner Code
Well, That sounds right I figured between 500-600 bucks...Thanks for the testimonial...

Nowadays VST 32 5.1 costs nothing with GetVSTwise tuts free...I figured I should spend a few dollars so I got some VST 32 version 5 books off ebay...

 It pays to use old soft.....

Offline Reticular

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 18
  • new to the site
I started recently on FL 11, but since i found this forum i got into old daw-s and got inspired so much. My brain likes the old gui.

Cub 2.8 is great, i like 5 VST32 also. I recently built old P3 machine, and since i did that i figured out that something is pushing me into it. I feel the midi speed too.

props for the Admin, thanks for keeping stuff allive

Offline Project5er

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 322
  • Older Code, Cleaner Code
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.0 (Aug 2000) upd. to Cubase VST/32 5.1r1 (Nov 2001) working
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2022, 10:54:43 PM »
Cool Beans Reticular!...

I too have had more modern DAW & terabytes of libraries but now prefer the concise & enjoyment of simple sample-based workflow with built-in FX of Protrekkr 2.6.2 which is modern version of old tracker...

And Yes, early cubase just fine...I quite like the 5.1 VST 32 but scanning plugs one must be careful...

I have sort-of 'dug-in' here & posting plenty in various sectors to assist in keeping the old alive...I feel more accomplishment with the vintage than new DAW that does everything for me....

Offline Reticular

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 18
  • new to the site
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.0 (Aug 2000) upd. to Cubase VST/32 5.1r1 (Nov 2001) working
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2022, 08:08:20 PM »
Arguru´s trackers...man, no wonder why deadmau5 called his track "arguru". Legend

I really like the sound of Psycle and i use it for samples(great fx), vstboard is another interesting one for midi, Madtracker2(Aodix) is great but i havent got into trackers, it is obvious that minds are different and that eveyone needs to find its workflow.

Other than that..i feel you, i´ve burned myself testing the plugins too..what a mistake.

Yeah,  5 VST 32 has its charms but it is very much usable and i like how the gui wants me to focus on the track rather than fancy stuff that is not important to the ear.




Offline Project5er

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 322
  • Older Code, Cleaner Code
Re: Cubase VST/32 5.0 (Aug 2000) upd. to Cubase VST/32 5.1r1 (Nov 2001) working
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2022, 07:23:27 AM »
Yeah, I always forget about Psycle as it started out from Arguru but was passed around ALOT to different dev contributors...Interesting that the last version to come out (probably the last) has a LUA piano roll in it...

Trackers not for everybody but if you really 'dig into' one it will be faster than any other in many ways since you are looking at a whole spreadsheet of tracks-notes at the same time...say you wanna block select an area of a pattern that includes 3 tracks you cross into then copy-paste into a different pattern sector anywhere you want...

Plus many TYPES of trackers so one for everybody I guess...I am liking Protrekkr as it is an updated version sticking to original Arguru's Noisetrekker 2 source code...Internal FX only, sample-based instruments and also 2 303s that have been refined to sound like rebirths 303s and also the synth module is still in there & has had workovers...

Anyways I have it on here at oldschooldaw so spread the word...I have also created over 500 instruments for Protrekkr as well & they are on here & I will be adding more soon...Versions for Windows, MAC, Linux, AmigaOS4....

But I do still like the VST thing...Messing with Bram Bros Tunafish very capable & also portable piano roller...Will post that here soon too...

Offline Reticular

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 18
  • new to the site
Reverbs in Psycle sound huge!

You are doing a lot of work, i started messing with the Aero studio and i had your turtorials that gave me the initial boost.
I think i have around 5-6 daw/trackers right now and i am slowly narrowing it down from almost 20. I feel i should like James Holden, buid my own stuff.

Anyway, i have to tip you, look up Phrazor(there are 5c beta and the full versions on the internet, or PM if you cant find)

Temper and Phrazor are very fun when your brain is tired, at least in my case.

Offline Project5er

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 322
  • Older Code, Cleaner Code
Hey Reticular...

       Yeah, I'll have to try Psycle Reverbs to see...

       I have been onto the Phrazor thing for sometime...I actually prefer the 5C beta as it is portable where the commercial 1.02 is system integration...

       I find the beta to be solid...Just can't get any of the other skins to work in it...

       I got an old reverb from that Italian guy...It is the cleanest reverb even putting the lexicon stuff to shame, also 20 years old...

      I get too many tunes going...Just started a new one in Sequential Vibes...another 'Jazz-Rock' sorta thing...

Offline Reticular

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 18
  • new to the site
Yeah, i really tried my best to make Psycle usable, but i only got to use it for making distant deep atmospheres. It has some kind of realistic sounding dithering + those great 3 or 4 verbs in it.

phrazor 1.02 works great in w2000 which is my 2nd rig for tape stuff etc.

Italian guy?I dont know really, but i definetly have my eyes open on older plugins with the character.


I´ll attach GUI for Phrazor, maybe you´ll find it usefull and also reverbs in case you dont have these.

verb
https://www.mediafire.com/file/067w4jv13o8qyii/HispasonicFreeVerb.zip/file
https://www.mediafire.com/file/3a15jeuhwq5je90/Freeverb3_VST.zip/file
https://www.mediafire.com/file/1lmpfcwowzezd9s/AriesVerb.zip/file

phrazor gui
https://www.mediafire.com/file/fjwandrb090ldej/phrazor_gui_artvera.zip/file
https://www.mediafire.com/file/855ocoj73rfrtng/Phrazor_GUI.zip/file











Offline Project5er

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 322
  • Older Code, Cleaner Code
Thanks for the verbs...Will try out...

I may have those skins already but will check to make sure...You see the skins I have work fine in the 1.02 but don't seem to wanna work in the beta...BUTT! there are a few various areas in the beta not quite finished....

I just like the beta cause it's portable drop-in....

Offline Reticular

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 18
  • new to the site
It is portable, but several VST´s like Synth1 and Shortcircut do not store settings/patches on recall on W7 x64. Maybe it is just my system because i have troube recalling the VstBoard too, also probably needs it´s own thread too. Cool little program, you could easiliy make a beat in it while playing around and not realizing, game like workflow.

The same goes for Cub VST/32 5.0, basic but non destructive in terms of wanting to mix perfectly and stuff. Adding pluggs is kinda slow so it gives you a chance to finish something and move on. Just my 2 cents so far.

Offline Project5er

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 322
  • Older Code, Cleaner Code
OK the Reverb I was talking about was VB Audio's 2 Reverbs now 20 years old...

He made newer versions but they took all kinda magic to run them 'medicated'...

These old one's just DLL needed...Very clean, very good...I think the guys name was Vincent Burel...

In Aero Studio-




Offline Reticular

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 18
  • new to the site
Ok

You were not playing, this thing really has a vibe, i will probably stick this into a Psycle. I also love the looks of it. I think i have his VB stripchannel, very good stuff. This is huge OT btw., could we make a random plugin thread?

Offline Project5er

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 322
  • Older Code, Cleaner Code
Well, You can think of a brilliant theme title thread or maybe other...

I presently have the '1.111 Megabyte VST Instrument Thread' which is specifically for very small plugin instruments of notable quality where extra bonus is given to smaller DLLs-

http://www.oldschooldaw.com/forums/index.php/topic,7378.0.html


So maybe you could start a similar for FX, or maybe just for reverbs as reverbs quite important really...

Use your imagination I guess...If it's FX & it's not tied to a particular year range it should go in this sector-

http://www.oldschooldaw.com/forums/index.php/board,199.0.html


Sounds like a good idea...I'm kinda busy on the 1.111 MB thread as I have some new stuff to add...

Offline Reticular

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 18
  • new to the site
Ooohhh, well, i shouldn´t be oppening these links but i did, this 1.111 thread is gona put me in a lot of slepples trouble.

I´ll figure something out, i got a little arsenal of pluggs, i will do something about it in coming days.
Dont want to cripple this thread further, it may be usefull as it was for me. I´ll move to the proper thread.

Offline Project5er

  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 322
  • Older Code, Cleaner Code
HAHAhaha...Fun reply...

I got my 1.111 MB Idea because nobody includes SMALL SIZE as an asset, nothing like that thread on the internet...I honestly believe anybody could have all the sound generators they need for 50 MB or less (not including FX)...

In the thread I mix free-commercial-betas...sometimes I gotta go back to earlier version to make the 1.111 MB limit...