this site is for reference purposes for those interested in learning about original hardware + software from the late 80s + early 90s thanks for visiting + contributing
Who | MIDI | USB Audio | Firewire Audio | TIMELINE | PCI | ISA | ATARI ST | IBM/DOS | WIN/PC | MAC | Drums | Synths | Modules | Sequencers | Samplers | Tape |
Mixers | Artists | Recent | VST | iOS | E-mu | Ensoniq | Akai "S" | Roland "MC" | MPCs | Roland "S" | Drum Machines | Roland JV | early 90s Synths | late 80s synths
guests are encouraged to: REGISTER for permission to  view file attachments + add relevant videos, downloads, resources. (credit your SOURCE!).
to post a youtube video simply paste the url! the embed will be automatically added

Author Topic: avoiding rewire problems with fl studio  (Read 2427 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chrisNova777

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 6663
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vintage MIDI Sequencing + Audio Production"
    • www.oldschooldaw.com | vintage audio production software + hardware info
avoiding rewire problems with fl studio
« on: September 03, 2014, 11:45:27 AM »
i have previously had problems with fl studio's rewire not functioning properly
(FL8 on Windows 7, not a good combo)
after observing FL Studio 5 functioning flawlessly on windows98
i have assumed this is because i was using a version that was built for xp on a more modern windows os (windows 7)
and this somehow caused the rewire settings to malfunction.

here is a small chart to consult for recommended os & fl studio version combination (for best results)

FL Studio 5  | XP + Below (Windows NT / 98 / XP / 2000)
FL Studio 6  | XP + Below
FL Studio 7  | Vista + Below
FL Studio 8  | Vista + Below
FL Studio 9  | Windows 7 + Below
FL Studio 10 | Windows 7 + Below
FL Studio 11 | Windows 8 + Below

So if you are using Vista, use FL7+ only
if you are using Windows 7, use FL9+ only
and if you are using Windows 8, use FL11+ only

this should ensure proper functioning of rewire in both host + client modes!
(a very powerful way to use FL Studio!)
« Last Edit: September 03, 2014, 11:48:38 AM by chrisNova777 »

Offline chrisNova777

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 6663
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vintage MIDI Sequencing + Audio Production"
    • www.oldschooldaw.com | vintage audio production software + hardware info
Re: avoiding rewire problems with fl studio
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2015, 01:29:51 AM »
« Last Edit: October 06, 2017, 06:46:02 PM by chrisNova777 »

Offline iRelevant

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: avoiding rewire problems with fl studio
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2017, 07:41:02 PM »
Thanks for this useful overview, I can confirm that using FLS10 rewire in SO v2.6.5 is problematic under XP SP3. (Trying to use FLS as a VSTi's under same environment is a nightmare of random crashes). Haven't yet gotten around to trying FLS6 as recommended above, will report back how it went; eventually.