Recent | Who | Artists | WIN/PC | IBM/DOS | Macintosh | ATARI ST | Firewire | USB | GFX | Roland "S" | E-mu | Ensoniq | Akai "S" |
Samplers |Synths | soft-Samplers | soft-Synths | Roland "JV" |Modules | Drums | Tape | Mixers | hardware Effects | soft Effects | Midi Interfaces |Sequencers | MPCs | Roland "MC"Software | Midi ControllersiOS | android | sw Timeline*** "all things are possible with God" Mark 10:27 ***

* Are you ready to say GoodBye to the 2010's and HELLO to the 2020s!!!??? *

Author Topic: Steinberg Cubase v3.04 (1996, for IBM/PC) - original ISO install media  (Read 3012 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online chrisNova777

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8385
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vintage MIDI Sequencing + Audio Production"
    • www.oldschooldaw.com | vintage audio production software + hardware info
nearly the last non-VST cubase version for the IBM/PC;
the files on the CD are dated October 10th, 1996

http://www.mediafire.com/file/e3v5310ae5a5xuu/Cubase304.iso


original install cd
for those in possession of the required parallel Dongles (red or green?)
i dont think a blue dongle will work for this version!

Offline Mixermap

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 49
Re: Steinberg Cubase v3.04 (1996, for IBM/PC) - original ISO install media
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2017, 07:45:12 AM »
I have a full, boxed version of Cubase 3.04 which I bought when it came out :D

The red dongle that came with it only allowed you to run the normal Cubase but not the Score or Audio XT.

VST 3.5 came out shortly after that and I was entitled to a free upgrade. I don't remember if I had to send my dongle back to Steinberg or not, probably yes because the red dongle I still have runs VST3.5 AND 3.04.
Since VST3.5 was a paid-for update it is unlikely they would have let it use the same dongle.
On the other hand, in 1997 CD burners were still quite rare and expensive and since VST3.5 came on CD only, maybe Steinberg felt safe enough to let it run on the same dongle.

Did anyone upgrade like I did and remembers how they did it?

Is the green dongle for 3.04 Score or Audio XT?

Online chrisNova777

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8385
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vintage MIDI Sequencing + Audio Production"
    • www.oldschooldaw.com | vintage audio production software + hardware info
Re: Steinberg Cubase v3.04 (1996, for IBM/PC) - original ISO install media
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2017, 01:57:05 PM »
i think the green is associated with score yes.. but im not sure
my friend has one!! he agreed to let me have it as hes not even using it, and hes in Berlin,
ive been trying to get it from his sister, and i even made the trip down there to pick it up soley with the intent of getting that green dongle to figure these facts out for certain to confirm once and for all but unfortunately his sister (actually his sisters husband) was unable to find it, and brought me down a bunch of stuff that i wasnt actually looking for instead (a pop JV880 expansion board + DX7IID factory reset cartridge?) i still havent got the green cubase dongle. i think his sister still has it but i didnt want to annoy them too much trying to get it. i will hopefully try again another time in the future to try to get my hands on one, or score one someother way.

Offline Mixermap

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 49
Re: Steinberg Cubase v3.04 (1996, for IBM/PC) - original ISO install media
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2017, 02:03:52 PM »
It would also be interesting to see if the green dongle runs the Standard Cubase 3.04 too.
BTW, on the VST3.5 CD there is a version 3.05 of Standard/Score/Audio, which is the very last non-VST version.
It runs with the 3.04 dongle as it was a free update.

Online chrisNova777

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8385
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vintage MIDI Sequencing + Audio Production"
    • www.oldschooldaw.com | vintage audio production software + hardware info
Re: Steinberg Cubase v3.04 (1996, for IBM/PC) - original ISO install media
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2017, 02:40:20 PM »
right that version was provided to make it the baseline for compatibility purposes i think
isnt ther a 3.05 update to update to 3.05 from 3.04 too? i think so

Offline Mixermap

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 49
Re: Steinberg Cubase v3.04 (1996, for IBM/PC) - original ISO install media
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2017, 04:38:34 AM »
Not sure, I've never seen one. At the time, here in Europe, downloading even a couple of megabytes was a big deal.
So it would have been sent by Steinberg on request by post. To be honest, even getting to know that an update was available, was a problem unless you had registered your software :)

Offline Mixermap

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 49
Re: Steinberg Cubase v3.04 (1996, for IBM/PC) - original ISO install media
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2017, 06:13:32 AM »
Correction. You are right!
Here they are:
ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Archives/Cubase_preVSTversions/PC/Cubase30/

or

ftp://ftp.steinberg.de/Archives/Cubase_preVSTversions/PC/Cubase30/

Standard and Score are 3.04 to 3.05 update files
(the readme file says you can use them to upgrade to 3.05 from any version like 3.01 / 3.02 / 3.03 and 3.04)

The Audio version instead is a FULL install, no previous version required.

I have checked the AUDIO installation files in the Zip with the ones on the VST3.70 CD and there are some differences (see pictures: VST3.70 foldes on the left, Steinberg FTP version folder on the right)

In the AUDIO driver folder some files are newer on the VST3.70 CD (see picture 2 for an example of the AUDIO/CBX-D3_D5 subfolder).

The other difference is in the STYLES folder: the FTP version has an extra style subfolder missing from the CD version (see picture 3).

I don't have a Cubase Audio dongle (yet!) so cannot test in practice.

PS.: About dongles.

Score 3.05 has its own RED dongle (see my post at the bottom of this page http://www.oldschooldaw.com/forums/index.php/topic,568.0.html )
It has a sticker that says "Cubase Score".
I will NOT run Cubase Standard.

Red dongles for Standard Cubase 3.05 seem to be identical to the red dongles for Standard VST3.X but I have had mixed results running Standard Cubase 3.05 with dongles that specifically came with VST3.X CDs.
I have four of those dongles and some of them work some don't. I am planning an in-depth test soon.

With regards to the BLUE dongle that comes with VST5 I can confirm from testing that:

- You CAN run VST3.X versions with that dongle as well as 5.X
Blue Standard dongles will run Standard VST3.X and Standard VST5.X
Blue Score dongles will run Score VST3.X and Score VST5.X

I don't have a blue VST5.X/32 to check if it works with VST3.X/24.

Blue dongles CANNOT run pre-VST versions like 3.05 or earlier unfortunately.

Green dongles are still a mystery to me...never seen one apart from pictures.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2017, 03:21:24 PM by Mixermap »

Online chrisNova777

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8385
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vintage MIDI Sequencing + Audio Production"
    • www.oldschooldaw.com | vintage audio production software + hardware info
i think i still need the 3.x Cubase mac cd images if anyone has them?

Online chrisNova777

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8385
  • Gender: Male
  • "Vintage MIDI Sequencing + Audio Production"
    • www.oldschooldaw.com | vintage audio production software + hardware info
cubase 3.05 update
« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2019, 12:48:02 PM »
ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Archives/Cubase_preVSTversions/PC/Cubase30/

Quote
Important note!!!!!!

This PC 3.05 updater will update version 3.01, 3.02, 3.03, or 3.04 DIRECTLY
to version 3.05. You do NOT need to install any other updaters first.

There are three different 3.05 updaters - one each for Cubase (standard version),
Cubase Score, and Cubase Audio XT. Please ensure that you are using the correct
updater for the program type that you have installed!!!!

The updaters require a file named PATCHW.DLL to be present in the WINDOWS folder
of your system. This file has been copied to your harddisk during the initial
CUBASE setup procedure but might have been overwritten since then with another
version by another program´s installer. In case you experience difficulties with
the updater, they might be related to this issue. Before calling Steinberg support,
you should download PATCHW.ZIP from our ftp-site as well, unzip it and copy it to
the WINDOWS folder of your PC.

Enjoy!

The Steinberg Team.

-----------------------------------------------

Bug fixes and more


Cubase Audio XT 3.05, Cubase Score 3.05, Cubase 3.05
Synchronization options added for MIDI, Audio and external time code (SMPTE/MTC).

A notification message appears whenever Cubase discovers that the sync between audio
and MIDI does not work properly.

Patch- and bank-name support for Creative Labs AWE Soundfonts (requires an installed
AWE32 or AWE64 card).

Remix of drum tracks turned the pan to the leftmost position. Fixed.

Num Lock when editing a value field has been always turned on. On some Notebooks and
Laptops this behaviour disables other underlying keys. A new switch in Cubase's INI
file allows setting the Num Lock behaviour.

When printing multiple copies the clef and key of the first staff on the first page of
following copies was missing.

Turning the Part Appearance to "Show Events" with group parts in the Arrangement did crash.
Fixed.

New key command (not explained in the manual): Ctrl+Shift+T on the Arrange window opens
an edit field allowing to set the track class by entering a number or the first letter
of the track class (except always 'x' for Mix track instead of 'm' and always 'space'
for Chord track instead of
'c'):
   1 = MIDI track
   2 = Drum track
   3 = Mix track
   4 = Audio track
   5 = Group track
   6 = Tape track
   7 = Chord track

New key command (not explained in the manual): Alt+Ctrl+Shift+R on the Arrange window
performs a Remix for the selected MIDI track using the Note numbers.

Real-time chord display in the key editor was blank when playing the same chord again.
The chord display in the score editor did only show the chord when moving the mouse
simultaneously. Both fixed.

The Graphical Mastertrack Editor did not show a rubber band when selecting with the mouse.
Fixed.

Loading Songs created with Cubase for Atari or Mac did sometimes create a GPF. Fixed.

Recording Audio in external sync did freeze the system when the time code stopped.

With "Chase events" turned on, Part Parameter have been sent accidentially to the first
device.


Sound card audio
Sound card version has improved timing.

If both, "Prerecord" and "Preroll", are inactive in the Metronome settings, Cubase will not
record any audio material.

Fix for the Digital Audio Labs CardD+ and Digital Only Cards driver's inability to work with
"Record while playback" (full-duplex) together with Cubase. Please mind, that the number of
audio channels for input and output have to be the same when "Record while playback" is
turned on. Digital Audio Labs might remove this limitation in a future update of the
CardD+ device driver for Windows.
Note: The CardD+ or Digital Only Card cannot mix the input signal with the output signal
when performing a full-duplex recording. You will only hear the playback of existing
recordings. You have to turn off "Record while playback" in the Audio Hardware Settings
inside Cubase, i.e. disable full-duplex operation, in order to hear the incoming signal
while recording. If you want to monitor your new recording and hear the existing recordings
you have to use an external mixing desk for this purpose.


Cubase Audio XT 3.05, Cubase Score 3.05
Step input in polyphonic voices didn't work correctly for voice other than voice one. Fixed.

Staff Separators are attached to the first line (staff) in a Grand Staff.
If you Hide this first line, the staff separator disappears. Fixed.

When using Polyphonic Voices, if a note is set to Voice 2, 3 or 4, Move To Staff is not
possible UNLESS: the note is first set to Voice 1. Fixed.



Cubase 3.05
The manual explains a function called "Make Chords" in Score Editor's "Do" menu. This
function was missing and it is now available.



Cubase Audio XT 3.04, Cubase Score 3.04, Cubase 3.04
Cubase 3.02/3.03 did not allow to print out the score notation. (Cubase Score and Cubase
Audio did not have this problem.)

[ALT]-[D] in the Audio Pool window performs the "Duplicate" function as described in the
manual.

Data can be saved to a disk with more than 2 GB of free space. Before a "Not enough space
on the destination drive" message was displayed and it was not possible to save the data
on the disk.

Drum Editor showed sometimes multiple hi-lited instruments after selecting another
instrument. Though only the last selected instrument was actually selected.

Cubase Audio XT 3.04
Yamaha CBX-D3/D5
Some hardware settings were not saved with the songs or the setups. "Sync Mode" and some
Input/Output settings for the CBX-D5 had to be set manually for each session.

Pre-listen to some files in the Audio Pool or Editor might have crashed the computer if
the files on the hard disk were too fragmented.

Destructive editing functions in the pool (Normalize, Pitch Shift, etc.) did not work
correctly when the "Write Behind Caching" in Windows 95 or the "32-bit Disk-Access" in
Windows 3.11 was enabled. (The resulting audio file did only playback for a fraction of
a second, even though the file was entirely and correctly processed.)



Cubase Audio XT 3.03, Cubase Score 3.03, Cubase 3.03
With sound card audio stereo recordings used two playback channels. While channel 1 played
back a stereo recording, any recording on channel 2 was muted.

Cubase Audio XT 3.03
Support for Yamaha CBX-D3/D5 added



Cubase Audio XT 3.02, Cubase Score 3.02, Cubase 3.02
Monitor Window look changed.

Corrupted Style names when saving Songs fixed.

Monitor did not reflect possible changes when loading a new song.

GM / GS / XG Editor did not send proper sysex data on slow machines.

When loading a Song or and Arrangment containing invalid Audio events
(no reference in the pool) in ghost parts could result in a GPF. Fixed.

Closing the IPS under certain circumstances did bring up another application.

The last used mode of the Logical Editor is saved in the Cubase INI file.

Directory names and file names containing country dependant characters (e.g. €...†) are now
recognized by Cubase.

Printing: Note stems and Bar lines are thickened for better readability.

Import MIDI File Type 0 Merge Mode: Failed when first track was empty (no part). Fixed.

Chord Symbol "half diminished" corrected.

Windows 95 only: Windows cursors enabled

Printing and Exporting Scores: Randomly appearing dithered bar lines corrected.

New "Confirm Record" dialog box. Allows direct input of new name for the recording and rename it,
deletion, or keeping.

Edit Solo shortcut [A], does now function inside the audio editor.

Sound card Hardware Settings will retain the "Sample Position" sync between sessions. Previously
after each restart of Cubase "DMA Blocks" were selected.


Sound card audio
Recording files may be now renamed immediately after the recording and/or later.

The speaker icon in the audio editor allows auditioning of the audio material.


Cubase Audio XT 3.02
Session 8 and AudioMedia III
FX-Send of each channel and masters is saved in the song.ALL.

MIDI timing and restart problems on cycle point changes w/o audio-tracks fixed.




Cubase Audio XT 3.01, Cubase Score 3.01, Cubase 3.01
Transpose/Velocity dialog, Transpose value: Scrolling to positive and after that to negative, the
negative values started from 254 etc.

Recording of audio tracks during ext. synch enabled (did not record at all or crashed)

Bug fixed which resulted in occasional clicks at the end of audio files when used on sound cards

Bug fixed which resulted in audio recordings appear in the pool but not in the arrangements
(Record bug: Record from bar 1 bis 18; no recording between bar 18 to 36; record starts again at
bar 36...)

Draw speed of parts on the Arrange window increased.

Inverted Audio parts display their wave form.

GPF when an Arrangement is discarded on random occasions has been fixed.

Launching Cubase in a low memory situation did not display "Not enough Memory" but did result in
a GPF. Fixed.




Cubase Audio XT 3.01
Audio Media III
If the AMIII doesn't init successfully, there is no sync for cubase available.

If the user changes the interface selection in the hardware dialog of the audio menu, he must
exit cubase and launch it again. If there are problems to set the interface to AMIII within the
dialog, you can edit the adevice.ini of the cubaseda\audio\aumed folder:

Interface=AudioMedia PCI

Note: there are new am3_dsp.dll, vdaed.vxd and sesthunk.dll from digidesign available!


Mros: Mr_mmwin.dll
Version 2.02
Via SetupMME renamed and inactivated Ports were active in Cubase. Fixed.

Version 2.03
Creative SB AWE32 User SoundFont Bank support added.

Crash with Roland PCMCIA Card SCP-55 Win95 driver Vers. 4.00.002. after quitting Cubase
(Notebooks only!). The Windows MME reset is now excluded for the SCP-55 MIDI Input to solve this
problem.


Mros: Mr_mmc.dll
Version 2.00
The tape is now located when the sequencer is located and not when the user hits play.



Cubase and HP 5L Laserjet printer
I have successfully used a HP-5L laserjet printer with Cubase Score
under Windows 95 without any apparent problems. The PC always sees the
key (even when the printer goes into "sleep mode") and prints out OK.

This is how to do it:

* Set the LPT-1 communication mode of the PC to normal/compatible in
  your PC BIOS.

* Boot the PC and run the HP-5L setup for the drivers.

* Select custom setup and select PCL driver (NB that the default will
  probably be Host **don't accept this**). Accept all the other
  defaults.

(When you install the software for the HP-5L you can choose two drivers
Host based or PCL. The host based driver uses the PC to process print
data. The PCL driver uses the printer to process printing data. If you
use the host based driver staves print out without lines !).

* Note that you still have to pay attention to the Windows 95 printer
  notes from Steinberg i.e. spool settings must be set to RAW for
  multiple page print out to work properly.


If you follow these instruction it all seems to work OK
with Cubasis/Cubase Score 2.03/Cubase Score 3.0/Cubase Audio 3.0.

NB I was using the following HP drivers:

Installation disc set 1.01
PCL driver version G 1.20
Status Window version B 3.16.10



Cubase and Mark of The Unicorn MTP II MIDI Interface
When recording a Sys-Ex dump and open up the List Editor to double-click on the dump's song
position and move it (no more than say 48 ticks earlier); go into MIDI Mixer and record while
stopped one keypress for the TG55 front panel; take the MIDI Mixer part into List Edit to
duplicate this keypress about 192 ticks later, then a GPF may occur.

Solution: Go into Control Panel/Multimedia (Properties)/Advanced and expand MIDI Devices and
Instruments. Select Properties for any one of the MTP Out Ports. Click Settings... This should
bring up a dialog box to set the Base Address and IRQ; but it also has a number of Options, one
being:

Allow multi-tasking during "Sys-Ex"

This is normally "checked" when first set up. Uncheck it, and it fixes the problem.


Crackling and glitching audio and VGA device drivers
The following text was not created by Steinberg, it was taken "as is" from Greg Hanssen of Zefiro
Acoustics.

   A good number of VGA card manufacturers are squeezing out a few extra
points on their winbench scores by locking up the PCI bus.  This is fine
for graphics and most systems on the PC (hard disks and such) don't even
notice the problem.... Unfortunately this can hurt the audio system in
a big way.
   Most audio cards use ISA/DMA to trickle samples over the bus one word
at a time.  Even PCI cards such as the AMIII can be hurt by this problem
because they trickle the data over the bus in tiny PCI transfers.  When
another device illegally locks up the bus for more than 1/88200th of a
second, there's a good chance you will lose audio samples resulting an a
glitch in the recording or playback.
   How do you know if you're having this problem?  Try opening up your
favorite wave editing program, loading a wave file and hitting the play
button.  While the audio is playing, grab the top of the window (assuming
it is not maximized) and repeatedly pick it up and drag it to another
location on the desktop.  On a soundblaster compatible card, the audio
will glitch and pop while you drag the window.  On a ZA2 card, there is
a 50/50 chance the audio will swap L/R channels after such a glitch. 
On an adb card, not only can the right and left channels swap, but there
is also a good chance the audio will be left in a glitchy mode that makes
the audio repeatedly jump channels resulting in a high pitch scratchy
noise.

   At this point in the discussion, I would like to stress that this is NOT
(I repeat NOT) the fault of the soundcard!  This is not even the fault
of the VGA card... it is in fact the fault of the VGA driver.  If you do
not experience any glitching or distortion then you can probably ignore
the rest of this post!  I've heard that the VGA drivers supplied by
Microsoft (verses the drivers supplied by the VGA manufacturer) do not
suffer from this problem.

   I think Matrox was the first to play with this, but it doesn't really
matter because most high performance VGA accelerator cards for the PCI
bus are doing the same thing now.  When a number of graphics acceleration
operations need to be performed, these commands are sent from the VGA
driver to the VGA card over the PCI bus.  The VGA chipset has a built in queue
that is capable of holding several accelerator commands.  Normally the
driver checks a status bit on the VGA card to tell if this queue is full or not.
If the queue is full, the driver waits for the queue to have a free space
before sending the next command.  Matrox discovered (and everyone soon
followed) that you could increase VGA performance by NOT CHECKING THIS
STATUS BIT!!!!!  What happens when you write blindly to a full queue of
commands on the VGA card?  The bus hangs... The bus master has started a
PCI transaction, but the target (the VGA card) can't accept the data yet
because it has no place to put it.  As soon as the VGA card has room for
the data, then the transaction can complete... but until that time the PCI bus
is completely locked up.  No PCI or ISA transactions can happen.  This can
take a long time (40 or more audio cycles) if the current VGA operation is
a huge BITBLT on a 24bit screen...  A 256 or 512 bit FIFO just ain't gonna
cut it.
   The only acceptable solution to this problem is to put the queue check
BACK into the VGA driver.  I have been discussing this problem with some
of the engineers at Matrox and Tseng labs and have some solutions for
you!
   Tseng labs has released a new version of their ET6000 VGA driver that
behaves nicer to the PCI bus. This driver is now trickling down to the
STB and Hercules products that use the ET6000 chip.  For the Hercules
Dynamite 128 card, there is a new driver on the Hercules BBS (not web
page... don't ask me) called DV95112  (Version 1.12)  Using this driver,
you need to add a special switch in your system.ini file.  Under the
heading [Hercules] there is a line that reads "Optimization=0"  you will
need to set this to "Optimization=1"... ta da, problem fixed.
   It turns out that Matrox has ALWAYS had a hidden back door switch to
enable this check in the VGA driver.  If you are using the Matrox
Millennium, you will need to add the following lines to your system.ini file:

[mga.drv]
PCIChipset=1

This almost fixes the problem completely.... you will also need to disable
the "Use PowerGDI acceleration" feature in the Advanced Matrox setup
(Control Panel->Display Properties->MGA Settings->Advanced->Performance)
ta da... problem fixed.

Unfortunately there are other VGA makers (ATI, Number 9...) who have not
acknowledged this problem (not that Matrox or Tseng has formally done so
either).  And we as users, software manufacturers or hardware
manufacturers need to get the word out that this is a VGA problem
and not a DMA problem!!!!!!  We need to drill it through the heads of
the VGA card makers that they can't get away with this B.S. without at
least having an OPTION to make the driver behave appropriately.

Have you ever been told to turn the VGA acceleration off???   or to reduce
the size of your VGA screen???   or reduce the color depth???

THESE ARE NOT ACCEPTABLE SOLUTIONS!!!

  Call your VGA manufacturer and tell them they need to fix the problem!
(You will probably need to get beyond Joe Tech Support, because he
probably doesn't know anything about this... please inform him!) 

This information has been brought to you by Greg Hanssen (hanssen@zefiro.com)
copyright 1996 Zefiro Acoustics.