Author Topic: LGA 1155 socket :: B65, Q65, Q67  (Read 72 times)

Offline chrisNova777

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 8679
  • "Vintage MIDI Sequencing + Audio Production"
    • | vintage audio production software + hardware info
LGA 1155 socket :: B65, Q65, Q67
« on: May 17, 2020, 08:55:00 AM »
LGA 1155, also called Socket H2, is a socket used for Intel microprocessors based on Sandy Bridge (2nd-Gen, 32nm, 2k-series) and Ivy Bridge (3rd-Gen, 22nm, 3k-series) microarchitectures.

It is the successor of LGA 1156 (known as Socket H) and was itself succeeded by LGA 1150 in 2013. Along with selected variations of LGA 2011 socket, it was the last Intel socket to fully support Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 (only with 6 series chipsets, 7 series chipsets have limited support). Sandy Bridge-based processors are also the last to support Windows Vista.

LGA 1155 has 1155 protruding pins to make contact with the pads on the processor. The pins are arranged in a 40×40 array with a 24×16 central void and additional 61 omitted pins (two adjoining the central void, six in each of the four corners, and 35 in groups around the perimeter), yielding the 1600 − 384 − 61 = 1155 pin count. Processors for LGA 1155 and LGA 1156 sockets are not compatible with each other since they have different socket notches.

LGA 1155 also marked the beginning of secure boot with support in some later boards.

B65, Q65, Q67 chipsets natively support conventional PCI slots
h61, h67, p67, z68 chipsets do not